a journey for photo knowledge

A good picture is worth…

As a marketing communications professional in the nonprofit sector, I have always found the need to be a full service department of one – graphic design, web development, writing, public relations, photography, etc.  But for the last five years, my appetite for photography has outpaced all other areas of interest. I’ve taken a few photos that communicate the shot I had in mind. And I’ve been amazingly lucky to capture just the right shot at just the right time. But I want to elevate my skill level – and that’s only going to come with understanding the principles of photography.

My philosophy on photography in the last five years has been as follows:  buy the best camera I can afford, master some of the programmed settings, use a high ISO count, be mindful of light, season, time of day and composition of the shot. And while I think some of those elements are important, I know there is far more to learn. So, I’m starting a journey to learn more.

I’ve registered for a photography class through “Evenings at Emory” in Atlanta. It’s four consecutive Saturdays from 9:00 a.m. – 12:45 p.m.  The course begins in less than two weeks.  I hope to use this blog to share some of my past work, new class assignments and the journey to learn how to compose great photographs.

Leave a Reply

