a journey for photo knowledge

In any language

As referenced in an April 2010 post, I’m a bit of a Coca-Cola collector. What I like most about the Coca-Cola brand is their very early understanding that they weren’t selling a product – but an emotion, an experience. The best example I could cite is the iconic “I’d like to teach the world to sing” commercial. It was that notion that a commercial could be used to express a sentiment about something other than the product itself – that’s what hooked me. And yes, I’m well aware of the shortcomings of the corporation behind the brand. As we get older, we get wiser (hopefully) – but I still believe in the notion/sentiment expressed in many of the Coca-Cola marketing campaigns. So, I still collect. This photo is of some reproductions (ad signs) given to me by my brother-in-law. How nice of him.

Leave a Reply

