a journey for photo knowledge

Understanding Tilt Shift

For years I’ve admired this trend in photography and videography that makes the subject look like toys or models – anything but real. Think of the television commercial “Chattanooga” for a frame of reference. I’m still learning about it, but it’s apparently called “tilt shift” photography. Apparently the effect can be achieved with a tilt shift lens on your camera – or you can create the effect in Photoshop. I’ve made my first attempt. I have to say, living 26 floors above midtown gives me the right height, but I still need to work the angle a bit.

Here’s the before:

And the same shot after the “tilt shift” was applied:

Neat!  Still more to learn and more practicing, for sure. I love this treatment, and will definitely be experimenting a bit more.

Leave a Reply

